Finalists named for Calypso Monarch include former king and two queens and include a first-timer on adult stage: Ge’Eve

Following a keenly contested semi-finals event on Wednesday night, July 20, the finalists in this year’s Calypso Monarch Competition, one of the top events of the annual Carnival festivities.

Ten finalists – including a former king and two former queens – have been named for the Up-Tempo Calypso Bacchanal segment: They are Tian Winter, Epic Byke, Kimmy, Queen Thalia, Redding, Queen Sammie C, Vicious, King Zacari, Supa D, and Omari.

Nine calypsonians will vie in the Social/Political Commentary category and include Stumpy, Queen Sammie C, Peetron, King Zacari, Tian Winter, Queen Thalia, Lyricks Man and Supa D.

Ge’Eve is entering the adult competition for the first time, but is no stranger to the stage or to calypso, having won several crowns in the junior competition.  

Defending his title will be the 2019 Calypso Monarch, Keithroy “De Bear” Morrison.

The competition is slated for next Friday, July 29, at Carnival City. After a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19, many residents are welcoming its return under this year’s theme, “Reigniting the Spirit.”