Antigua and Barbuda is added to EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, EU Council reports

The Council of the EU has added Antigua and Barbuda to the EU list
of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.
In a press release issued by the Council of the EU on Tuesday
afternoon, October 17, it was noted that there are now 16
jurisdictions on its list, with Belize and Seychelles being the other
two countries to be added along with Antigua and Barbuda.
On Tuesday, three other jurisdictions were removed from the
list: British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica and the Marshall Islands.
Of the list of 16 non-cooperative tax jurisdictions, several other
Caribbean islands join Antigua and Barbuda, including Anguilla, The
Bahamas, Trinidad & Tobago and the US Virgin Islands.
The Council says it regrets that these jurisdictions are not yet
cooperative on tax matters, and it invites them to improve their
legal framework in order to resolve the identified issues.
The EU list comprises countries that either have not engaged in a
constructive dialogue with the EU on tax governance or have failed
to deliver on their commitments to implement the necessary

It was noted that these reforms should aim to comply with a set of
objective tax good-governance criteria, which include tax
transparency, fair taxation, and implementation of international
standards that are designed to prevent tax-base erosion and profit
In this round of the EU list update, the Council added Antigua
and Barbuda and the two other jurisdictions to the list because all
three were found to be lacking with regard to the exchange of tax
information on request.
The Council has been updating its list twice a year since 2020, with
the next revision set for February 2024.