Eight police officers honoured for 40 years’ service to the Force, while Sir Wright’s tenure is also recognized

The Royal Police Force of Antigua and Barbuda has honoured eight of its members who have given over four decades of unbroken service.

The recognition coincided with the Nation’s celebration of 40 years of political independence on November 1.

During an award ceremony held at the Sir Wright F. George Police Academy on Thursday, November 4, His Excellency Sir Rodney Williams conferred the Meritorious Service Medal on Assistant Commissioner of Police Elvis Weaver; on Superintendents Cecilia Francis, Christopher Warren, and Avil Jacobs; on Assistant Superintendents Alston Ryan and Arthur Edwards; and Inspectors John Pelle and Bastin Burke for their years of service to the Force and to the Nation.

Assistant Commissioner Weaver is currently the longest-serving member of the Police Force, having enlisted in February 1979.

Commissioner of Police Atlee Rodney congratulated the honorees and thanked them for their support over the years.

He encouraged them to continue being examples to their subordinates, thereby inspiring those who might have lost the will to carry on and follow in their footsteps.

Meanwhile, retired Commissioner Sir Wright F. George was also presented with a plaque for Meritorious Service to the Police Force by Commissioner Rodney.

Sir Wright’s career in the Force spanned  1951 to 1990. He retired in June 1990, having served as Commissioner of Police for 16 years.