New 14-member Plant Protection Board is named and installed to serve three-year term

A new Plant Protection Board has been installed, effective January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024, based on a Cabinet decision.

The installation ceremony was held recently at Government House, where 11 of the 14 board members were present to receive their instruments of appointment.

The members include Dr. Janil Gore-Francis, Head of the National Plant Protection Unit; Gregory Bailey, Director of Agriculture; Devon Warner, representing the Barbuda Council; and President of the Antigua and Barbuda Nurses Association Soria Dupie-Winston.

The board also includes representatives from the Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of the Environment, Ministry of Trade, Ministry of Legal Affairs, the Customs Department, the Antigua & Barbuda Defense Force Coastguard, and the Police Force, as well as an importer and exporter and a grower and nursery owner.

The members were advised and encouraged by Sir Rodney to serve without fear or favour, and with integrity and by professional standards.

The Plant Protection Board was established under Section 9 of the Plant Protection Act, No 18 of 2012.

According to Dr. Gore-Francis, one of the board’s primary functions is to advise the Minister on regulations for plant protection with respect to particular issues and to manage phyto-sanitary emergencies.